View Full Version : So where is Hypercycle's server?
cbrsmurf
01-20-2004, 04:00 AM
Don't want the same thing happening again, if ya know what I mean.
Plus I don't really know how servers work. Does a computer have to be on all the time? Can a forum or something run on multiple comps?
deathblow
01-20-2004, 10:19 AM
Originally posted by cbrsmurf
Don't want the same thing happening again, if ya know what I mean.
Plus I don't really know how servers work. Does a computer have to be on all the time? Can a forum or something run on multiple comps?
You didn't know? It's running on a cluster of 32 servers in GP's room.
Arnold_R1
01-20-2004, 10:27 AM
Originally posted by cbrsmurf
Don't want the same thing happening again, if ya know what I mean.
Someone has it and ain't giving it back. . .:grr:
deathblow
01-20-2004, 10:35 AM
I could be wrong, I thought Paul administrated Hypercycles before and kinda got too busy to upkeep it, or couldn't afford funding this and SocalSVRiders site.
dre_2k2_f4i
01-20-2004, 11:29 AM
I believe they went with Dathorn.com (http://www.dathorn.com).
Dathorn is our host. They are pretty good. They are located in Texas.
Don't worry, Hypercycles FO-EVAH!
Oh yea, did you know you can do hypercycles.com/net/org and they all go to our site?
Bryant
01-21-2004, 02:26 AM
We chose Dathorn.com per Andre's recommendation. And a good one it has been thus far! Thanks Andre. :)
Arnold_R1
01-21-2004, 09:16 AM
Originally posted by Jae
Oh yea, did you know you can do hypercycles.com/net/org and they all go to our site?
Funny you mention that Jae, b/c there was some confusion on the SCS board about Hypercycles.com ---> Track day affiliates http://www.hypercycle.com/ and us www.hypercycles.org :confused:
deathblow
01-21-2004, 10:28 AM
Originally posted by Bodmaster
We chose Dathorn.com per Andre's recommendation. And a good one it has been thus far! Thanks Andre. :)
Good choice indeed! Site performance has been very good.
Originally posted by Arnold_R1
Funny you mention that Jae, b/c there was some confusion on the SCS board about Hypercycles.com ---> Track day affiliates http://www.hypercycle.com/ and us www.hypercycles.org :confused:
I know. Yeah, they are missing and 's' but it is close enough that people could mistake us for them. Or vice versa. Anyway, our club has NO affiliation with Hypercycle.com. I attribute the problem to the fact that people who google 'Hypercycles' will get us at the top. People who google 'Hypercycle' get them at the top. The trick is to make sure we also appear if people search 'Hypercycle'.
Any suggestions?
TreAdidas
01-21-2004, 11:48 AM
Originally posted by Jae
I know. Yeah, they are missing and 's' but it is close enough that people could mistake us for them. Or vice versa. Anyway, our club has NO affiliation with Hypercycle.com. I attribute the problem to the fact that people who google 'Hypercycles' will get us at the top. People who google 'Hypercycle' get them at the top. The trick is to make sure we also appear if people search 'Hypercycle'.
Any suggestions?
Isn't therea way we can google bomb it to work out?
Like if you go to google and type in "miserable failure" in the search bar you get all kinds of stuff not directly relating to the term... it is actually pretty funny...check it out
yeah, we try to do a google bomb experiment i guess. I'll get back to you guys on that ;)
dre_2k2_f4i
01-21-2004, 03:24 PM
Originally posted by TreAdidas
Isn't therea way we can google bomb it to work out?
Like if you go to google and type in "miserable failure" in the search bar you get all kinds of stuff not directly relating to the term... it is actually pretty funny...check it out
"treadidas" -> "I'm feeling lucky" comes up with
http://socalsportbikes.com/xmb/member.php?action=viewpro&member=TreAdidas
"dre_2k2_f4i" goes to SCS as well.
Looks like our postwhore is the only faithful one. "gptechman" -> I'm Feeling Lucky comes up with
http://www.hypercycles.org/photos/index.php?cat=1
shichyea
01-21-2004, 03:31 PM
Hey! Someone stole my name and is using for a Flag Football team name! click click pull (http://www.recsports.umich.edu/intramurals/schedules/football/regseason/335.htm)
THIS IS AN OUTRAGE!
:D :D
Arnold_R1
01-21-2004, 09:25 PM
Originally posted by shichyea
Hey! Someone stole my name and is using for a Flag Football team name! click click pull (http://www.recsports.umich.edu/intramurals/schedules/football/regseason/335.htm)
THIS IS AN OUTRAGE!
:D :D
:lol: :ha: I typed in my name and came up in like 5 different forums. . . :shocked:
deathblow
01-22-2004, 12:55 AM
I don't even want to try mine. :confused:
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.